Old December 12, 2003, 12:34   #1
Donegeal
PtWDG Glory of WarC4DG VoxApolyCon 06 ParticipantsC4BtSDG TemplarsSpore
Emperor

Local Time: 14:27
Local Date: November 2, 2010
What is an Exploit?
Alot of talk goes on about what can and can't be done in PBEM games. This is an exploit that is not. Its alot of hooting and hollering that doen't get anywhere until people get up set. Perhaps it is time to delve into the definitions of what is what. What can be done and what can't be done. I will begin by breaking down some of the known exploits into three distince categories.

Category I: Bugs.
I am not an expert on bugs so I won't get into this category much more than defining it and stating a couple of examples.

A bug is a programming flaw that does not directly deal with units, builds, tech or gold.

Examples: The infinate production bug (I am not familier with how its done other than that it can be done). Loading a PBEM in single player mode to view other civs (done by re-opening a PBEM from the quick menu when already playing). I am sure there are more, but I can't think of them at the moment.

Category II: Gameplay Exploits

These are exploits that are caused by playorder or other unexpected results steming from the fact that this is a single player game adjusted for multiplayer.