Old February 9, 2004, 14:51   #31
MrBaggins
CTP2 Source Code Project
King

Local Time: 14:50
Local Date: November 2, 2010
To quote Dr. McCoy... "I'm a Doctor, not a magician". Just because a lot of people want something doesn't mean a designer/programmer can conjure a new algorithm to do so with little or no CPU cost.

I agree that units have different movement rates... this doesn't "solve" any problem for us when discussing terrain-based boni, except sofar as giving a range to A* pathfinding, which isn't the cost I'm concerned about... thats actually an optimization.

Theres no evidence to suggest that the AI attempts to avoid or take advantage of enslavement, except in the grossest and most simplistic terms.

You mention that the AI has improved since Civ2. Thats true... although its also true to say that Civ3 uses object orientation and that Civ2 doesn't. OOP allows for implementations that are difficult, inefficient and messy in standard programming languages. C++ has allowed for implementation of algorithms that are now standard in FPS's... that would have been impractical in C. Standard algorithms (including typical AI solutions) haven't changed in that time period, or since, however.

Zero range bombardment is absolutely not an extention of AI behavior, if you are already considering bombardment with range in the AI. Its a tiny tweak.

The improvement in the AI during the patches isn't due to any special new algorithms being developed, either... they are merely incremental tweaks. Since the Civ3 AI is static, noticable gains can be made when a large playtest group points out simple AI flaws in finite circumstances. Finite decision spaces can be easily (and thus quickly) solved.