Old December 29, 2003, 14:43   #1
Apple_The_Man
Settler

Local Time: 10:18
Local Date: November 2, 2010
phewey! Cities subverted!
Okay I was just playing a game last night, Warlord ( sorry I am still a beginner ) as the Babylonians. To my north I had Iroquois, Persians, and to my east, Zulus. All of a sudden, around the medieval era, about 5 of enemy cities got subverted to my empire!

????

What makes them subvert? Culture? Why did so many subvert? Is it because the babylonians are both Scientific and Religious and can build culture producing buildings very easily?
Old December 29, 2003, 14:50   #2
Inverse Icarus
Emperor

superior culture. both empire to empire, and surrounding cities.

basically, if you have more culture than nearby cities, you're likely to flip 'em.
Old December 29, 2003, 15:39   #3
steven8r
Prince

Local Time: 09:18
Yep, your empire is just so cool that everyone wants to be like you!

Check out the Cultrue Graph in the Victory Status screen (the 'V' button on the lower right-hand box). Your shaded area is probably MUCH larger than any of your neighbors'. You can also check the first page of the Victory Status screen and it will tell you your total culture as well as that of your closest rival.

That's what they get for not putting Libraries and Temples in their border towns.

NOTE: Next time you play a diferent civ, make sure that your bordr towns don't flip to your neighbors.

It looks like you're well on your way to a Cultural Victory. All it takes is at least 100k cultre per empire (or 20k per city) and to be at least twice as large as your closest rival.

Happy Culture Bombing!!!!
Old December 29, 2003, 17:03   #4
Apple_The_Man
Settler

Thank you!

I came close to a cultural victory, but I managed to win diplomatically at 1355 AD

Another question though... does propaganda work the same way?
Old December 29, 2003, 19:14   #5
ChrisiusMaximus