Old January 1, 2004, 05:52   #91
yavoon
Warlord

Local Time: 15:24
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Quote:
Originally posted by Spiffor

It is an emotefest. It is a completely artificial displa of emotion -oh our boys are great, we love'em- that has nothing to do with the dull/boring/enraging/slaughtering reality of the field.

I don't need soldiers raping babies, but I think it is an extremely bad tribute to the soldiers to show them as all huggy-nilly rather than in a true light. This "tribute" is obviously meant for the civilian audience back home. I'd personally feel insulted if I was a soldier, because it looks highly patronizing.
its not a documentary, its a tribute. really now this is just friggin silly. do we go up to our high school graduations and the principle hands u ur diploma and he's like

"well sorta congratulations, ur actually not a good student and u've passed because recent political necessity has forced us to not fail minorities. in all reality u will goto college have a great time then drop out get a job and get someone pregnant, tho possibly not in that order."

do u think the soldiers don't miss their families? do u think the families don't miss the soldiers?
Old January 1, 2004, 10:15   #92
Spiffor
Civilization III Democracy GamePtWDG LegolandApolytoners Hall of Fame

Local Time: 17:24
Quote:
Originally posted by yavoon
do u think the soldiers don't miss their families? do u think the families don't miss the soldiers?
Obviously they do. But as Sprayber pointed out, the audience of this tribute aren't the soldiers, but civilians in the US looking for a feelgood experience.