Old January 12, 2004, 14:59   #31
Space05us
King

Local Time: 03:54
Local Date: November 3, 2010
Old January 12, 2004, 15:14   #32
Jon Miller
staff
ApolyCon 06 ParticipantsCivilization III MultiplayerCivilization II MultiplayerRise of Nations MultiplayerPtWDG Vox ControliC4DG Vox
OTF Moderator

Local Time: 09:54
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Quote:
Originally posted by Standup
I started playing around 1979 with the blue Basic D+D book but i haven't played much over the last few years.

Essentially you need a group of people - we had around 15 but people would drift in and out and a lot of spare time was needed. The best bit i found was not the actual combat but the roleplaying of your character. For this you want interesting people (does that sound harsh ?) The run around killing things and getting powerful wanes after a while.

You can do it all with a bit of imagination and some paper to keep stats on but i think most people ended up using miniature figures, floorplans, maps etc

There use to be Basic D+D, Expert D+D and Advance but i don't know if that;s still the case. If you want to play then you'll probably want the Player's Handbook, Dungeon Master's Guide and the Monster Manual as a starting point (well it was circa 1985).

I too prefer the PC version now mainly because i don't have the time to play a proper campaign, the save function makes it easy to pick up where you let off and at the local D+D club everyone was half my age !! The only downside to PC version is that the ability to actually role play is very limited.
yah

combat is 90% of the time uninteresting in PnP

but the roleplaying is much better (which the computer games are not very good at)

Jon Miller
Old January 12, 2004, 15:21   #33
Jon Miller
staff
ApolyCon 06 ParticipantsCivilization III MultiplayerCivilization II MultiplayerRise of Nations MultiplayerPtWDG Vox ControliC4DG Vox
OTF Moderator

Quote:
Originally posted by DarkCloud

--