January 16, 2004, 13:19
|
#1
|
Chieftain
Local Time: 11:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl.
Posts: 61
|
How to use a leader to.......
Hey I heard that you can use a leader to rush wonders. Although I cant figure out what to do to make this happen I cant find the option to do this.
Also I do know how to make the army but what mix of troops should I use and is there a way to unload the troops from the army and add new ones.
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 13:38
|
#2
|
Deity
Local Time: 09:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Baron of Sealand residing in SF, CA
Posts: 12,344
|
Only Scientific Great Leaders can rush the Great Wonders.
Military Great Leaders can rush Minor Wonders and your normal city improvements. They also build Armies.
Once you have a unit in an Army, it is stuck there (no upgrading possible). You can add units to an Army when ever you want until the Army is full.
As far as what type of mix of units to have in an Army goes, it all depends on what you want to use the Army for. I myself normally build a pure Knight Army or a pure Cavalry Army, or the best (as far as I'm concerned) is the pure Tank Army...but some players also like to add a defensive unit into the mix.
__________________
____________________________
"One day if I do go to heaven, I'm going to do what every San Franciscan does who goes to heaven - I'll look around and say, 'It ain't bad, but it ain't San Francisco.'" - Herb Caen, 1996
"If God, as they say, is homophobic, I wouldn't worship that God." - Archbishop Desmond Tutu
____________________________
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 13:40
|
#3
|
Emperor
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The warmonger formerly known as rpodos. Gathering Storm!
Posts: 8,907
|
Quote:
|
Originally posted by Wittlich
As far as what type of mix of units to have in an Army goes, it all depends on what you want to use the Army for. I myself normally build a pure Knight Army or a pure Cavalry Army...so some players also like to add a defensive unit into the mix.
|
WHOA!!! Careful there: Never mix a defensive slowmover into a fastmover Army.
Check here:
http://apolyton.net/forums/showthrea...threadid=46197
__________________
The greatest delight for man is to inflict defeat on his enemies, to drive them before him, to see those dear to them with their faces bathed in tears, to bestride their horses, to crush in his arms their daughters and wives.
Duas uncias in puncta mortalis est.
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 13:43
|
#4
|
Deity
Local Time: 09:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Baron of Sealand residing in SF, CA
Posts: 12,344
|
That's my philosophy too Theseus, but for some reason some players insist on adding a slower moving defensive unit into the mix.
__________________
____________________________
"One day if I do go to heaven, I'm going to do what every San Franciscan does who goes to heaven - I'll look around and say, 'It ain't bad, but it ain't San Francisco.'" - Herb Caen, 1996
"If God, as they say, is homophobic, I wouldn't worship that God." - Archbishop Desmond Tutu
____________________________
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 14:43
|
#5
|
Deity
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oviedo, Fl
Posts: 14,103
|
techbota it should be pointed out the CivIII and PTW only have one great leader type. Then the leader can rush any building or create an army (if you have 4 cities for each army).
In C3C that was changed to have two tyes of leaders as Wittlich said. The value of an army is higher in C3C than the others as they have been improved, see the thread on armies.
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 14:44
|
#6
|
Chieftain
Local Time: 11:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl.
Posts: 61
|
Thanx for the info. How is the easiest way to get a scientific leader and do they have any other uses other than rushing wonders?
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 14:50
|
#7
|
Emperor
Local Time: 09:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vincent is back!
Posts: 6,844
|
To get a scientific great leader you have to be the first to finish research on a new technology (any technology that hasn't been finished by anyone else before you get there) and then hope you get lucky. I think the percentage chance is 3% (though someone correct me if I'm wrong).
Secondary usage for the SGL is to boost science production for 20 turns. But that isn't nearly as good as rushing a great wonder (well, actually that depends on the wonder I suppose  ).
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 18:25
|
#8
|
Settler
Local Time: 08:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
|
i believe that SGL's are not allowed to rush wonders in some or all of the scenarios.
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 19:06
|
#9
|
Deity
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oviedo, Fl
Posts: 14,103
|
The rules I mentioned are for epic games only. Scenarios can be customized to who knows what.
AFAIK you are correct it is 3% for non scientific civs and IIRC it is 5 or 6% for scientific ones. IOW it is not common to get one.
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 19:13
|
#10
|
Emperor
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 3,361
|
I've never had one yet.
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 19:32
|
#11
|
Deity
Local Time: 09:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Baron of Sealand residing in SF, CA
Posts: 12,344
|
Nor I.
__________________
____________________________
"One day if I do go to heaven, I'm going to do what every San Franciscan does who goes to heaven - I'll look around and say, 'It ain't bad, but it ain't San Francisco.'" - Herb Caen, 1996
"If God, as they say, is homophobic, I wouldn't worship that God." - Archbishop Desmond Tutu
____________________________
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 20:41
|
#12
|
Emperor
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Fort LOLderdale, FL Communist Party of Apolyton
Posts: 9,091
|
I had just built an army, put a unit into it, and then got counter attacked and it was killed.
__________________
Christianity: The belief that a cosmic Jewish Zombie who was his own father can make you live forever if you symbolically eat his flesh and telepathically tell him you accept him as your master, so he can remove an evil force from your soul that is present in humanity because a rib-woman was convinced by a talking snake to eat from a magical tree...
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 21:00
|
#13
|
King
Local Time: 11:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 1,657
|
Once, and once only, I got a leader from defensive combat. He was immediately captured and executed. By the French. The French!
The shame of it...
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 21:02
|
#14
|
Emperor
Local Time: 11:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: listening too long to one song
Posts: 7,395
|
I'm playing as Byzantium on emperor and have gotten two sci's so far. Unfortunately they were both in the modern age.  And I'm about an entire age ahead of the nearest competitors
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 21:02
|
#15
|
Deity
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oviedo, Fl
Posts: 14,103
|
I have had SGL, but I have also had games that I did not get one.
chegitz guevara if you mean literally one unit, then you are living dangerously. I will do that for an attack to get the Epic after dropping a unit to 1HP. Even that is risky.
|
|
|
|
January 16, 2004, 22:23
|
#16
|
Prince
Local Time: 11:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 404
|
Quote:
|
Originally posted by vmxa1
I have had SGL, but I have also had games that I did not get one.
chegitz guevara if you mean literally one unit, then you are living dangerously. I will do that for an attack to get the Epic after dropping a unit to 1HP. Even that is risky.
|
I second vmxa1's opinion unless you were in a desperate situation in which maybe losing the army was better than risking losing...?
__________________
The law, in its majestic equality, forbids the rich as well as the poor to sleep under bridges, to beg in the streets, and to steal bread.
Anatole France
Last edited by Drachen; January 16, 2004 at 22:43.
|
|
|
|
January 17, 2004, 08:09
|
#17
|
Deity
Local Time: 04:15
Local Date: November 3, 2010
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: That's DR WhereItsAt...
Posts: 10,157
|
An army with one unit in it... that would mean the only bonus is an extra move point, unless the attack/or defense was worth 6+, or 4+ and you had the Military Academy, wouldn't it? All that extra C3C potency gone, unless you wanted to pillage a few squares to death more than you wanted an army.
|
|
|
|
January 29, 2004, 14:23
|
#18
|
Prince
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Hoboken, NJ, USA
Posts: 894
|
Quote:
|
Originally posted by Rhothaerill Secondary usage for the SGL is to boost science production for 20 turns. But that isn't nearly as good as rushing a great wonder (well, actually that depends on the wonder I suppose ).
|
Hmm...can you boost science production for 19 turns and then rush a wonder? Just wondering...
__________________
"...your Caravel has killed a Spanish Man-o-War."
|
|
|
|
January 29, 2004, 15:45
|
#19
|
Emperor
Local Time: 09:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vincent is back!
Posts: 6,844
|
Quote:
|
Originally posted by Hermann the Lombard
Hmm...can you boost science production for 19 turns and then rush a wonder? Just wondering...
|
Nope. Once the SGL is used for one thing or the other, it's gone.
Hmm, just saw the wink smiley. Perhaps you weren't looking for an answer, but oh well.
|
|
|
|
January 30, 2004, 08:19
|
#20
|
King
Local Time: 18:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hooked on a feeling
Posts: 1,780
|
I've had some Scientific Leaders in my games, perhaps 5 in a month of playing.
Is there a chance to get Scientific Leaders if you get a tech from a hut?
__________________
So get your Naomi Klein books and move it or I'll seriously bash your faces in - Supercitizen to stupid students
Lord know, I've made some judgement errors as a mod here. The fact that most of you are still allowed to post here is proof of that. - Rah
|
|
|
|
January 30, 2004, 10:32
|
#21
|
Warlord
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 273
|
A couple people have done some pretty extensive testing (I think vmxa1 was one of them), and it appears that the answer is no, you can not get an SGL from a tech earned from a goodie hut.
__________________
They don't get no stranger.
Do not taunt Happy Fun Ball.
"We will not tire, we will not falter, and we will not fail." George W. Bush
|
|
|
|
January 30, 2004, 10:56
|
#22
|
King
Local Time: 11:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 1,657
|
Did we ever confirm that you cannot get a SGL if you have an existing MGL?
|
|
|
|
January 30, 2004, 11:06
|
#23
|
King
Local Time: 18:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hooked on a feeling
Posts: 1,780
|
I think I've had one of each at the same time, but I may remember wrong.
__________________
So get your Naomi Klein books and move it or I'll seriously bash your faces in - Supercitizen to stupid students
Lord know, I've made some judgement errors as a mod here. The fact that most of you are still allowed to post here is proof of that. - Rah
|
|
|
|
January 30, 2004, 11:09
|
#24
|
King
Local Time: 11:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 1,657
|
Quote:
|
Originally posted by Chemical Ollie
I think I've had one of each at the same time, but I may remember wrong.
|
Thanks for clearing that up.
|
|
|
|
January 30, 2004, 11:17
|
#25
|
Deity
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Kneel before Grog!
Posts: 17,978
|
It has been reported that you can have a SGL and a MGL at the same time. I have not done that personally, since my leaders don't tend to sit around long.
-Arrian
__________________
grog want tank...Grog Want Tank... GROG WANT TANK!
The trick isn't to break some eggs to make an omelette, it's convincing the eggs to break themselves in order to aspire to omelettehood.
|
|
|
|
January 30, 2004, 12:06
|
#26
|
Chieftain
Local Time: 11:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 69
|
I wonder if GA and a scientific discovery age from a SGL stack properly or if that's bugged too.
|
|
|
|
January 30, 2004, 13:06
|
#27
|
Deity
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oviedo, Fl
Posts: 14,103
|
Quote:
|
Originally posted by jimmytrick
Did we ever confirm that you cannot get a SGL if you have an existing MGL?
|
Yes you can have both and can even have more than one SGL and an MGL.
I have only had MGL and SGL at the same time though.
|
|
|
|
January 30, 2004, 17:50
|
#28
|
Prince
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Hoboken, NJ, USA
Posts: 894
|
Quote:
|
Originally posted by Rhothaerill Hmm, just saw the wink smiley. Perhaps you weren't looking for an answer, but oh well.
|
Actually, I was looking for an answer, but I would have bet money that I knew the answer (and I would have won).
While we're on the topic...I know that promotion is less likely when fighting barbs. I would think the same is true of generating an MGL. In my very limited experience I have *never* seen a GL from combat with barbs. It also sounds like defensive combat is a poor source of GLs.
__________________
"...your Caravel has killed a Spanish Man-o-War."
|
|
|
|
January 30, 2004, 17:55
|
#29
|
Deity
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oviedo, Fl
Posts: 14,103
|
You cannot create MGL form barbs. You can get promotions to Vet and elite, but that is it.
|
|
|
|
February 5, 2004, 14:12
|
#30
|
Prince
Local Time: 12:15
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Hoboken, NJ, USA
Posts: 894
|
Quote:
|
Originally posted by vmxa1
You cannot create MGL form barbs. You can get promotions to Vet and elite, but that is it.
|
Thanks. Finally got two MGL by using a militaristic civ, but it sure doesn't look like I'm getting 1 per 8 elite victories, as I once read. Maybe that got reduced along the way.
__________________
"...your Caravel has killed a Spanish Man-o-War."
|
|
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:15.
|
|