Old March 19, 2004, 09:48   #1
Lewsir
Chieftain

Local Time: 20:25
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Need more city improvement options
I'm fairly new to C3C, so I may be making some points that people have already gone over - or that maybe should be pointed toward the CIV4 board, but anyway...

I'm enjoying some of the new C3C build items (e.g. police stations - wait is that new?) but I am still finding that quite often I run out of city improvements to build, unless I'm embroiled in a very long war. I also find my workers sometimes run out of improvements to make for a while until, say, railroads become available. On the other hand there are quite a number of techs that don't provide much direct benefit.

I conclude that the next XP (I for one really hope there will be another one) or CIV4 should offer a number of additional things to do - mainly to force you to make more decisions and accept more tradeoffs. One way to fit this in would be to ratchet down some of the benefits of existing items (e.g. happiness benefit from markets) in order to create the need for more build items. It would also be good to have one or two more ways to reduce corruption, given how small the benefit of courthouses and police stations currently is. Maybe even bring out the health/environmental aspects further - like an early type of hospital to cut down on disease, which could itself be changed to be more of a problem than it is now.

So, do people agree build additions are needed? Or would they just make the game overly "busy"?

Last edited by Lewsir; March 19, 2004 at 10:09.
Lewsir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19, 2004, 12:37   #2
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 15:25
Builders will like and warmongers won't. Not sure how it will impact the AI. I would expect to see some additions in Civ4.
vmxa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19, 2004, 15:01   #3
Willem
Emperor

Local Time: 12:25
Quote:
Originally posted by vmxa1