Old March 19, 2004, 16:20   #1
Eli
Civ4 SP Democracy GamePtWDG Vox ControliC4DG VoxCiv4 InterSite DG: Apolyton Team
Emperor

Local Time: 22:27
Local Date: November 2, 2010
EU Economic model help
I'm entering a new EU addiction phase.

One thing that I never truly understood was the economy details. Trade, production, efficiencies, taxes, census taxes, war taxes, etc etc.

What affects what, where and how?

I tried searching the EU2 forums for these stuff, but their FAQs are full of tables and numbers and are generally scary.
Old March 21, 2004, 00:51   #2
pg
Prince

Local Time: 14:27
i thought these were pretty self explanatory. you have looked at the various in game charts and graphcs in the red booklet right? i'm not an expert like some but here is off the top of my head

trade is how much your merchants make in cots
production is how much income you get from making certain items
efficiency is basically your trade/infra level
taxes/census taxes is tied to infra level iirc
war taxes is a bonus on top of your regular tax level. it depends on which version you are running too i think it's been as high as 100% but it's more like 50% now. best to use at the end of the year as it will increase census taxes too then.
Old March 22, 2004, 11:10   #3
Grumbold
Emperor

Local Time: 20:27
Yeah each patch has its own quirks. Rule of thumb says that Stability level 0 generates 100% of taxes and it goes up or down from there, so having a high stability is very important, particularly at year end.

War taxes used to be worth collecting in August, so that they impacted on your year-end income (they run for 6 months.) I'm sure that got tweaked in the last round of patching to be more consistent.

You need to get the economy level to 4 asap to get good income and the benefit of the tax generating buildings. Level 5/6 when the governors appear is useful too, but you probably need to pause now and do some mil and trade investment first