Old March 22, 2004, 14:18   #1
Murrius
Settler

Local Time: 19:34
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Technology
I'm fairly new to Civ 3 and there is one thing that bugs me a lot. There is nothing I seem to be able to do that can put me ahead of most of the other civs in research. There's always a couple that lag way behind and the rest are right on par with me, no matter how I concentrate on enhancing my tech aquisition. For example, right after I research gunpowder, my main competetors all have gunpowder as well even though I'm quite careful with my tech trades.

I'd sure appreciate any tips you might have.......
Murrius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22, 2004, 14:59   #2
Kloreep
C3CDG Team BabylonPtWDG LegolandInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamPtWDG2 TabemonoC3C IDG: Apolyton TeamApolyton UniversityCivilization IV PBEMC4DG The Mercenary Team
Emperor

Local Time: 14:34
Sounds to me like the problem is that either they are on par, or they are almost on par and are benefitting from riding on your coattails (every time a civ researches a tech, the cost of that tech goes down for all civs that civ knows).

There's only so much you can do to pump up your economy on your end; only so many cities can have low corruption, and once those cities have all commerce improvements built, there's not much you can do on your end of the race.