Old February 16, 2001, 17:46   #1
Chaos Warrior

Any Diplogames starting soon, I'm a beginner!
at Diplo Games, that is... is there any possibility for me to get used to playing in such? I'm really interested in them, if my playing skills might be slightly below those of others here

Maybe some of you are willing to start a new one, just to introduce a DiploNewbie like me to it?

Damn, I'll have to dig out the thread that was posted ages ago, where all those useful links were collected... what a DipoGame is, things about etiquette, etc... but I do like the idea of it

Old February 16, 2001, 19:07   #2
GNGSpam
Warlord

Local Time: 23:15
Local Date: October 30, 2010
Well as far as actual Civ skills go, I doubt you lack the nessecary fundamentals. The fact is diplogames dont go like Duels because strategies you would use in a duel cease to be viable.

Let me try to be more clear since that paragraph was confusing.

When one enters a diplogame, he can expect some general things. A historical map of some kind and a fairly full game for one (5 to 7, fluctuating depending on who shows up when, though most maintain around 7 through the use of various subs). World map is, obviously, the most popular.

lets stroll over to the world map for a second and look at it. Take example of the latest Diplogame. It has 7 countries, Italy, Israel, Mali (west africa), Zulu (south Africa), China, Mongol (above India, inbetween Europe and China), and India. Now picture that upon the world map. Youll notice a few things right off.