Old January 26, 2001, 14:36   #1
Solver
lifer
Civilization IV CreatorsAge of Nations TeamApolytoners Hall of FamePolyCast TeamBtS Tri-LeagueThe Courts of Candle'BreC4WDG Team Apolyton
Deity

Local Time: 12:20
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Solver's 1st CtP 2 day
Today I just couldn't resist the cheap price for CtP II, and being a Civ games fan, I've bough it.
My first impressions were when I watched the intro video - I liked it a lot, and thought that this game isn't as bad as others speak it is. And then I started a game as the Jewish, with 8 enemies. Level was Beginner, to feel what the game tastes like.
In 6 hours of playing, the game didn't crash single time, what is a very good result. Next, I noticed the performace. I started playing CtP I with Pentium 166 MMX / 16 MB RAM, and it went SO SLOW, then UI upgraded the PC. But, CtP II seems to run even faster than CtP.
Another positive feeling is the fact they have included the Earth Map - I haven't yet seen it in details, but even if it's crude, it's Earh, after all. I believe this map is yet better than Civ I Earcth Map.
Combat system really is better, and the battles occur in real-time, also giving a handy retreat options.
I have gone up to the point of almost reaching Modern Age, all enemies are Ancient, 1 is annihilated, Germans have only one city remaining.
I like the Diplomatic options, as they are better than in the original CtP, but SMAC probably yet has it better, but these are quite close ones. Threats really work sometimes, especially when I'm figting a war on my own continent.
Interface was easy to transfer to, and I could quite quickly understand what to do in order to trade, swich government, etc. But, it was damned difficult to find out how do I change the squares that the city works on.
As in SMAC, borders are a very cute addition to the game, even though I think they should be a bit wider there.