Thread Tools
Old March 20, 2001, 01:57   #1
leonli316
Chieftain
 
Local Time: 09:25
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver,BC,Canada
Posts: 45
Some Errors in the Modification; To hexagonian
When I tried to add a new improvment, I did the following steps.
1) Building.txt
2) Unit.con
3) BuildBuildList
4) gl_str.txt
5) Great library.txt

I do exactly what you told me (For sure). However, the game dont even work. Here's the DataBase error window pops up

buildingbuildtxt 639. Expected string ID
buildingbuildtxt 639. warning:require field Product Cost missing
buildingbuildtxt 639. warning:require field Upkeep Cost missing
Unable init the Data bases

leonli316 is offline  
Old March 20, 2001, 02:14   #2
leonli316
Chieftain
 
Local Time: 09:25
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver,BC,Canada
Posts: 45
HERE IS WHAT I HAVE DONE

1) building.txt

################################################## ##########

IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM {
DefaultIcon ICON_IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM
Description DESCRIPTION_IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM
EnableAdvance ADVANCE_INDUSTRIAL_REVOLUTION

PrerequisiteBuilding IMPROVE_IMPROVE_AQUEDUCT

ProductionCost 900
Upkeep 4
ProductionPollutionPercent -0.15
PopulationPollutionPercent -0.15
}

################################################## ##########

2)Unit.con


ICON_IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM { FirstFrame "UPIP048L.TGA" Movie "NULL" Gameplay "IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM_GAMEPLAY" Historical "IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM_HISTORICAL" Prereq "IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM_PREREQ" Vari "IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM_STATISTICS" Icon "UPIP048L.TGA" LargeIcon "NULL" SmallIcon "NULL" StatText "IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM_STATISTICS" }

Note:
-since there is no UPIP047L.TGA so i use it to replace the secity monitor
-I have sewer sys icon in CTP2/gamedata/grafic/picture

3)BuildingBuildingList

BUILDING_BUILD_LIST_HAPPINESS {
Building IMPROVE_SHRINE
Building IMPROVE_THEATER
Building IMPROVE_ARENA
Building IMPROVE_BASCILICA
Building IMPROVE_MOVIE_PALACE
Building IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM
Building IMPROVE_RECYCLING_PLANT
Building IMPROVE_PUBLIC_TRANSPORTATION
Building IMPROVE_TELEVISION
Building IMPROVE_ECO_TRANSIT
Building IMPROVE_MATTER_DECOMPILER
Building IMPROVE_VR_AMUSEMENT_PARK
Building IMPROVE_BODY_EXCHANGE
}

4) gl_str.txt

IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM "Sewer System"

5) Great library.txt

[IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM_PREREQ]
Requires:
ATABASE_ADVANCES,ADVANCE_INDUSTRIAL_REVOLUTION>Industrial Revolution

Cost: {BuildingDB(Building[0]).ProductionCost} ATABASE_CONCEPTS,CONCEPT_PRODUCTION>Production
Upkeep: {BuildingDB(Building[0]).Upkeep} ATABASE_CONCEPTS,CONCEPT_GOLD>Gold
[END]

[IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM_STATISTICS]
Gives:
{BuildingDB(Building[0]).ProductionPollutionPercent}% ATABASE_CONCEPTS,CONCEPT_POLLUTION>Pollution (from Production){BuildingDB(Building[0]).HappyInc} ATABASE_CONCEPTS,CONCEPT_HAPPINESS>Happiness
{BuildingDB(Building[0]).PopulationPollutionPercent}% ATABASE_CONCEPTS,CONCEPT_POLLUTION>Pollution (from Population)
[END]

[IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM_GAMEPLAY]
The First improvement to fight pollution
[END]

[IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM_HISTORICAL]
Data Not available
[END]


leonli316 is offline  
Old March 20, 2001, 07:19   #3
Martin Gühmann
staff
Call to Power II Democracy GameCall to Power Democracy GameCTP2 Source Code Project
Super Moderator
 
Martin Gühmann's Avatar
 
Local Time: 11:25
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Posts: 6,206
What means the line "ATABASE_CONCEPTS,CONCEPT_PRODUCTION>"in GreatLibrary.txt? The correct line must be: "ATABASE_CONCEPTS,CONCEPT_PRODUCTION>".
You cut "".

By the way you can skip the line:
{BuildingDB(Building[0]).HappyInc}ATABASE_CONCEPTS,CONCEPT_HAPPINESS>Happiness

There is no line in Building.txt like:
HappyInc.

Line numbers would also help us. You can use an Editor that display line numbers like edit.exe located in your C:\windows\command\ folder.

-Martin
Martin Gühmann is offline  
Old March 20, 2001, 14:31   #4
Immortal Wombat
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
Prince
 
Immortal Wombat's Avatar
 
Local Time: 10:25
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: in perpetuity
Posts: 4,962
Oops, just re-read hexagonias post, and he has mentioned my workaround.
It works for me fine. The junk_str.txt is just what it says - junk. It doesn't affect gameplay, so any additions can't hurt.
[This message has been edited by Immortal Wombat (edited March 20, 2001).]
Immortal Wombat is offline  
Old March 20, 2001, 16:35   #5
leonli316
Chieftain
 
Local Time: 09:25
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver,BC,Canada
Posts: 45
To hexagonian

After looking at your reply and the works on your modification, I fixed my mistakes. As for the game, it works perfectly . As for Martin Gühmann sugestion, It helps to fix problems on the Great Liberly text.

leonli316 is offline  
Old March 21, 2001, 01:56   #6
hexagonian
The Courts of Candle'Bre
Emperor
 
hexagonian's Avatar
 
Local Time: 04:25
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Smemperor
Posts: 3,405
Leonli
Please reread my post in the instructions...

IMPORTANT NOTE;
You need to leave the line of text
Description DESCRIPTION_IMPROVE_
to something that is already in the game. I believe it is a holdover from CTP1, but if you change that line to your new addition, it will not work. At least I haven't been able to get it to work. It does not affect gameplay though.

Change your entry
Description DESCRIPTION_IMPROVE_SEWER_SYSTEM

to
Description DESCRIPTION_IMPROVE_MOVIE_PALACE

Movie Palace is part of the default setup.

I had made the same mistake when first attempting to add buildings/governments/units. The instructions that were given to me did not include that bit of info. I almost gave up at that point. As it appears, your problems are the same. Make the change and the game should launch. The files for units/wonders/governments also have the same type of line of text.

Immortal Wombat also has a possible workaround to this problem, which he had posted in the thread where my instructions are, though I haven't tried it yet.

Martin
The DATABASE error was due to a mistake on my part, but this forum did not recognize the particular sequence of text on that line. You will see the same error on your post. The word DATABASE is showing up as ATABASE. I had attemped to edit my earlier post to bypass that discrepency, but I must of missed that additional character.

Bottom line - when making your additions to your files, cut and paste from the existing file, not from this post.
hexagonian is offline  
Old March 21, 2001, 03:54   #7
leonli316
Chieftain
 
Local Time: 09:25
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver,BC,Canada
Posts: 45
If I am to add the Sun Tzus War Academy on my wonder.txt, What can I do to make it give Vetern Status to all combet units???
leonli316 is offline  
Old March 21, 2001, 12:23   #8
hexagonian
The Courts of Candle'Bre
Emperor
 
hexagonian's Avatar
 
Local Time: 04:25
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Smemperor
Posts: 3,405
What I did was limit my alterations to my wonders to those that are available in other wonders. I had tried to make a unit have a bonus against a city, but was not able to do it because in was an entirely new ability. Short of creating some SLIC though...

I think Wes has something tied into Wonders with units, so you could drop him an email asking about it.

You could possibly give Sun Tzus the bonus of additional hitpoints to units, as this is what the Genome Project does. This would accomplish preety much the same thing.
hexagonian is offline  
Old March 21, 2001, 19:42   #9
leonli316
Chieftain
 
Local Time: 09:25
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver,BC,Canada
Posts: 45
No, the Genome Project only gives health bounus to all of your friendly units. It does not give bouns hitpoint. However, i know that pikemem can have bouns hitpoint vs mounted units, so does all vetern units have 50% effectiveness when attack. I think i have to chick and see if i can give the same funtion to the wonders.
[This message has been edited by leonli316 (edited March 21, 2001).]
leonli316 is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25.


Design by Vjacheslav Trushkin, color scheme by ColorizeIt!.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Apolyton Civilization Site | Copyright © The Apolyton Team