Old November 23, 2000, 18:26   #1
colorme
Warlord

Local Time: 09:42
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Help with modifications

I want to modify some of the AI files. But I'm a newbie to this aspect, and what puts me off is that I'll have to play the game for 50-100 turns before I see the effect of the modification (e.g. changing various AI strategies).

Question: Is there an easy way to cycle thru 100 turns quickly? For example, if I was only an observer to the AI's game (and not an active player), seems like a hundred turns would last less than a minute. I'm sure activision has a game version that supports this, for their own inhouse tweaking.

Perhaps WesW or some of our other mod-makers can comment?
Old November 24, 2000, 15:26   #2
Locutus
Apolytoners Hall of FameCiv4 SP Democracy GameCiv4 InterSite DG: Apolyton TeamBtS Tri-LeagueC4BtSDG TemplarsC4WDG Team ApolytonCivilization IV CreatorsCTP2 Source Code ProjectPolyCast Team
Deity

Local Time: 11:42
I don't think such a thing exists, but what I always do is put myself on a very isolated island and just keep hitting that End Turn button, without settling or moving or doing anything. Another option might be to put your settler(s) to sleep. In CtPI it would automaticly cycle through turns in that case, until something woke your unit up (well, sometimes at least, didn't seem to always work for me). You could at least try this in CtPII as well and write a bit of SLIC code that automaticly wakes your unit after 100 turns or so. It should look something like this:

Code:
int_t testcounter;

HandleEvent(BeginTurn) {
unit_t	tmpUnit;
	if (player[0] == 1) {
		testcounter = testcounter + 1;
		if (testcounter == 100) {
			GetUnitByIndex(1, 0, tmpUnit);
			Event:WakeUnit(tmpUnit);
			testcounter == 0;
		}
	}
}