Old April 10, 2001, 05:31   #1
PaulWilliams
Settler

Local Time: 09:59
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Great Manual project
As a newcomer to this forum I have been impressed by the vast amount of expertise etc available here. And as a journalist I thought I would start on a Great Manual Project to draw together all that is known and to help other newcomers as I have, myself, been helped. If people think it worth while perhaps Apolyton would put the files on their database.

Here is my first attempt, on adding ADVANCES. I would greatly appreciate any comments about errors, omissions and cockups from the Great Gurus:

HOW TO ADD ADVANCES

You need to amend the following files:

In default/gamedata:

ADVANCES.TXT
UNITICONS.TXT

In english/gamedata (or whichever language you are using)

*GL_STR.TXT
*GREAT_LIBRARY.TXT

In default/aidata:

*ADVANCELISTS.TXT

Your custom graphic - if you use one - in default/graphics/pictures

(* optional - it will play without entries here)

First: add your advance to ADVANCES.TXT. As always the easiest way is to copy one of the existing entries and then change the various entries.

Here is one I prepared earlier:

ADVANCE_ASTRONOMY {

Prerequisites ADVANCE_RELIGION

Cost 350
Icon ICON_ADVANCE_ASTRONOMY
Branch 0
Age AGE_ONE
}

Prerequisites is the advance you must already have before you can do this particular one. Here I have added just one. You can have none, one, two or more. The Great Library will show your prerequisites in the Tech Tree.

Cost: this is how much science gold you need to do the advance, so in other words it dictates how long before you get the advance. Look at the cost of other advances in the age for which your advance is designed to get an idea of a reasonable figure.

Icon: this refers to the entry in UNITICONS.TXT which you must have (see below).

Branch 0: All the entries appear to need this although it appears to have no relevance now.