Old March 6, 2001, 10:17   #1
dande
Chieftain

Local Time: 10:04
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Quite a learning curve
Wow! I know I'm busy, but this is crazy. I have had the game for about 5 days now and am still clueless. I just loaded it on my system yesturday after trying to plow through a dense very detailed manual (I'm still less than half way through!) When I finally sat down to poke around yesturday I was so completely lost I couldn't even figure out how to build my first army (even in the tutorial scenario!!). Alas, after rereading the manual and playing some more I slowly started to understand things. (Although attrition of my sea vessels is phenominally high!)

I have been Civing for 10 years and EU is such a departure in gameplay (obviously! b/c it is not based on civ) that the learning curve is pretty long. Have you found this to be the case?
dande is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6, 2001, 12:27   #2
Steve Clark
King

Local Time: 04:04
That has been my experience up until last night. I spent 3 nights (about 2-3 hours per) going through the tutorial several times since there's no save. During the day, I read (and re-read) parts of the manual. I remember the first night getting to the point about adding a merchant and not having a clue as to its cause and affect. I then took the time to study everything about EU economics and now got a handle on that.

So starting in again last night, I quickly went through the first part and then got into navies and armies (esp. in landing in England and then going south to the Catalunyas). It didn't take long to figure out about the weight parameters and attritions. I kept watching the transport fleet numbers go from 12 of 16 to 12 of 14 to 12 of 12 and then DISASTER. It's then easy to see that you have to methodically make your way south by building ports. It's not like Civ where you can keep a ship out in the ocean for years without harm.