Old July 1, 2001, 09:47   #1
OptimusPrime
Settler

Local Time: 12:14
Local Date: October 31, 2010
First experience
Hello there

I just wanted to share something about the game and hope that I get some reaction on It, so here goes.

I bought the game about a week ago because I lend CTP to someone and thought this could be a good alternative until Civ3 comes along. My first disappointment was they dropped the space city thing. When I played Civ2 for the first time I hoped that If you made It to Alpha Centaury, the game would continue on a new planet but It turned out I had to wait for a new game with the same name which I didn't like that much. Anyway I kind of liked the idea of the space cities in CTP. Okay so I started playing CTP2 and I'm a diplomatic peace-loving player and started a not so difficult game on medium settings with only 2 other empires, the Americans and the Scottish. Both of them are non-war type so holding peace wasn't that difficult. After some time (somewhere BC) the Americans and Scottish declared war. I thought, let them do the fighting with each other so I could concentrate on building cities and making the people happy. To my surprise they kept waging war for thousands of years until the end of the game in 2300AD and neither of them was doing anything sensible. Especially the Americans had enormous armies and all they did was walk around a bit and nag each other by pillaging now and then and occasionally capture a city. I practically build all the wonders including the Globe Satellite so I could see everything what they did, and what they did, didn't made any sense at all. Also at one time I created a proposal to the Americans to make a trade pact for 10.000 gold (I had a lot of money) and they countered It with a trade pact for 600 gold!!! That’s just plain stupid. I just installed the medieval 2 mod, hoping It’s making a difference. Don’t get me wrong, I like the game in general, but It could have been a lot better in my opinion. For instan