Old October 17, 2000, 01:50   #1
Rufus T. Firefly
King

Local Time: 19:45
Local Date: October 30, 2010
The quantum leap from Prince to King
Looking for strategy tips and general insights here. I've been civving for 3 months now, and can win consistantly at Prince level -- nothing dramatic, just AC or world conquest sometime early in the 20th century. Up until now, when I began winning on one level and moved to another, I found that I my strategy -- aggressively expansionist early in the game, perfectionist once I had 8-12 cities -- was largely workable but needed fine-tuning; with fine tuning and a little more care, the next level was mine too.

Then I tried moving to King (normal map, 7 civs, raging hoards). Ay Caramba!

I get the basic shift: the AIs are way more agressive, and happiness is harder to achieve. But in practice, this seems to mean that I'm stuck with a few small cities that are relentlessly attacked. The game I'm playing now is the best I've done so far, and it's pitiful: it's 1300 AD and I have 6 cities (each with walls and 3 defensive units in them), 3 wonders (colossus, the library, the observatory), no gold to speak of, and I'm only researching Invention. And the only reason I'm doing this "well" is that I started on an island with two settlers, found my best city in a goody hut, have only been attacked by civs even lamer than mine, and the Barbs haven't shown up yet.

So that's my tale of woe. My question is: what are your priorities at higher levels? Chieftain, Warlord and Prince levels all seem to allow for balanced play (balancing military, city improvement, research, happiness, and wonder-building), with each level making things harder than the one that came before. But starting with King, everything seems different; the emphasis on defense and happiness seems so great that it precludes significant development in other areas. Is this really the case, or am I missing something? TIA for comments and insights.

------------------