Old July 26, 2002, 15:17   #691
Aro
lifer
PtWDG Glory of WarC3C IDG: Apolyton TeamC4DG Gathering StormCiv4 SP Democracy Game
Emperor

Local Time: 09:48
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Quote:
Originally posted by Lord Merciless
Aro, I saw your cartoons. They are very nicely drawn, but I don't understand anything.
Thanks, Lord Merciless. All the stuff is about our local issues. It’s hard to understand, even for us... However, in my new page I'll put international cartoons, in english. Next week, I hope...
Old July 26, 2002, 15:57   #692
Red Hand
Settler

Local Time: 06:48
Well, Ghengis, I am a high school teacher, so you can imagine my reaction to your summation of public education But I walked around for a bit, and feel a bit better now, although I can't let your post go without a little response.

I am sorry that your checkout experience was so bad, but really, how important is it that someone can add in their head? Really? I can do calculus in my head (well, a little anyway) but that doesn't make me smart (other things do, ha ha). Where is this school that has no grades or tests? I would love to work there, it would sure cut down on my paperwork. Social Promotion (passing kids though grades 1-8 whether they have achieved "passing" grades or not) doesn't seem to work well that's true. But, it was instituted because holding kids back did not get them to improve. So this didn't work either, let's try something else, not say everything was due to overemphasis on self-esteem and go back to what didn't work in the first place.

I know you were mostly joking before, but these kind of opinions, even presented in jest, make it hard to be an educator.

Whoo! Off the soapbox. Sorrry this was so off the topic, but when was the last time someone actually posted about the Korean civilization anyway?
Old July 26, 2002, 21:26   #693
King of Rasslin
Prince

Local Time: 12:48