Old November 3, 2001, 02:26   #1
MonarchyMajor
Chieftain

Local Time: 15:55
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Let me give some of you newbies some advice
I am a newbie since I lose all the time but I got EXPERIENCE!!!

Republic = BIG NO NO

I hope there someone that oduld prove me wrong, but I have gone with this govn many times and have realized it is the worst. you will eventaully lose by military take over becaues you cannot police your citys (meaning the more troops u pit int hem = civil Dis.)

Monarchy = someone who is good player..give me a reason

Depotism = best givn in tell democ or commn(if u make tnat far)

---I can could of made it that far..knowing i was gonna lose, so I quit, just like the past 5-12 games

gl all!
Old November 3, 2001, 02:46   #2
player1
Emperor

Local Time: 17:55
Monarchy: Just look its abilities in MANUAL!
Republic: yes, war warrines & no Martial low are bad things but anything else is even better than Monarchy

P.S. How do you think to wait for democracy if you don't like Republic?, Democracy has EVEN WORSE PROBLEMS?
Old November 3, 2001, 02:51   #3
MonarchyMajor
Chieftain

Depotism, anoyther player told me about this strategy. you build up your fund while your science still decently grows. In republic it I have yet to see it grow to much, most thing are 32 turns or I am not researching sceince at all caues I am in debt. That is cause I over expanded like the computer does. But somehow they manage.
Old November 3, 2001, 03:33   #4
KhanMan
Prince

Sigh...newbees.
Just like in Civ2 and Civ1, Republics and Democracies require a certain amount of skill to run.

First, set your luxury rate to 30-40%.

Set your tax rate to just enough to break even with costs, with the rest going into science.

Second, build in all cities temple, marketplace, and any other happiness improvements.

Third, do not, I repeat, do not attempt to fight any wars. Republic and Democracies are best used as trade-hogging peacetime governments.