Old November 8, 2001, 03:47   #1
Clint
Settler

Local Time: 08:20
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Changing Gender? (also MP pact cooperation)
I recently started playing SMAC again after some years of it on the shelf, and had never noticed something annoying... when you attempt to customize your faction at the start of a game or during the game, the option to change your gender is there -- but no matter what I type it just resets to the default for the underlying faction, whether that default is male or female, although any other changes made (name, faction name, etc.) stick.

I'm running with the Alien Crossfire add-on and the latest patch for it... is this something that was just never corrected and has to be lived with? It's not critical to gameplay, but it's annoying, especially when the manual presumes you CAN change the gender setting.

I would have checked to see if this was answered already, but the search function is disabled... so apologies in advance if this has a really obvious answer I'm missing...

Also, I had always presumed that if you had a Pact with someone you could do things like let them load troops onto your transport and ferry them (but the AI was too simplistic for such). When trying this out in multiplayer it appears not to be the case, is there any workaround besides actually turning control of the transport over to them? Can they board it if it's 'docked' in one of their bases, perhaps?
Old November 8, 2001, 09:38   #2
MariOne
King

Local Time: 18:20
I think that knowing how Firaxis addressed serious bugs, not only they didn't bother to think about it, but we players didn't bother in the first place to bring their attention on it...
Maybe... they would even declare it a "feature"!

___

No, I confirm that is impossible to carry someone else's units on your tranports, not even your Pactmates'.

You have to turn over the transport, and in addition to that you can only turn over ships inside friend's ports.