Old November 15, 2001, 10:46   #1
D4everman
Prince

Local Time: 16:51
Local Date: October 31, 2010
D4's probably uselss tips for a democatic spaceship game
Well, I was ticked off at the situation in my last game, but after taking an early morning drive to the PX for a bagel and coffee I decided I'd won anyway and I'd just try another game. (I built the UN long time ago and was elected, but I wanted a spaceship win and reloaded the saved file to try it. UGH. Constant war with the accursed French and Germans sent my Greek democracy into a tailspin. So I'm posting these notes to help out anyone else. I'm no expert at this game, but I hope this hints and ideas are helpful. They apply to any player thats trying to play a peaceful democracy for a science victory.

YOU CAN'T FIGHT CITY HALL
At least in Civ3 you can't. You're gonna have to get outta despotism as fast as possible. I usually bypass monarchy and go right for republic. Only theres a downside to that. Republic isn't really suited for warfare, so if you want to conquer your neighbors for "breathing room" you'd better go for monarchy. But whatever you do DO NOT try to change governments while building a wonder you really want or an improvement or unit you really need. I got screwed out of a wonder because the five or six turns of disorder allowed my rivals production of it to overtake mine.

LOVE THY NEIGHBOR