Old November 15, 2001, 20:10   #1
KLIN-TONN
Civilization III Democracy Game
Settler

Local Time: 16:53
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Why is no one talking about Fundamentalism? (and some other stuff)
I am a veteran Civ player and a rookie poster to this site. If this has already been discussed I apologize...but the lack of fundamentalism in the new game really gets my goat. It was a huge part of my strategy in Civ II - for all out war no other form of gov't comes close.

Was the omission of fundamentalism a reaction to the events of 9-11? Will someone make a mod that brings it back?

Finally, and bear with me here, please, what EXACTLY is a "mod", anyway? Once loaded, are they always active in the game? Does one have to be programming-savvy to incorporate a mod into their game?

I really like Civ III overall. But I am having problems playing the kind of game I like - which, of course, involves total world conquest. You understand...I don't want to KILL everyone! I just want to rule over them with an iron boot.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me, and let me reiterate my apologies if I've committed any rookie transgressions.
Old November 15, 2001, 21:35   #2
HunterAssasin
Chieftain

Local Time: 11:53
They probably took Fundamentalism out because it was uber in Civ II.

As for mods they are modifications to the rules, not sure if they're always active I didn't really use any. Also you don't have to be programming savvy, you just open up Civedit/mod, and change the rules for whatever and walaa(sp?) you have a mod
Old November 15, 2001, 21:43   #3
Dis
ACDG3 SpartansC4DG Vox
Deity

Local Time: 09:53
because they wanted to prevent people from doing what you like to do

fundy was too powerful at that. I know I did it all the time in civ2