Old November 18, 2001, 00:32   #1
TheShadow
Settler

Local Time: 11:00
Local Date: October 31, 2010
No Resources???
I'm a newbie. I've started 4 new games at the WARLORD level. Usually American, but at the moment French.

My problem (?) is that I can't seem to find some resources. Playing HUGE, and after exploring most of the world, I've NEVER found COAL. In one game, I found only ONE source of IRON that EXPIRED!!!

Yes, I believe I'm finding the "proper" Advances, but even with the discovery of STEAM ENGINE, I haven't ever found COAL.

In the current game, after discovery of GUNPOWDER, I haven't found ANY SALTPETER.

Am I doing something wrong, or is their a bug of some kind, or maybe I need to re-install?

THANX in advance for your replies and help.

CIV RULES!!! LOLOL
Old November 18, 2001, 01:04   #2
Thoth
King

Local Time: 13:00
It's not uncommon to have a lack of resources within your trade network. Try trading with the AI, it'll be pricey for key resources, but well worth it. Take advantage of the resource while you have it. Then go conquer the nearest supply.
Old November 18, 2001, 21:35   #3
Kolyana
Warlord

Well, I've just had the strangest game ... seven civs, large map, *ONE* resource of coal. Yes, you read that right, ONE.

Ofcourse, I didn't have it and the French - who did - monopolized on the fact. It was weird, only they had railroads ... the rest of us were screwed!
Old November 18, 2001, 22:02   #4
Chuckles
King

Local Time: 09:00
The coal could have been in hills that had already been mined. In that case you will never see any coal even though it is there.
Old November 18, 2001, 22:46   #5
Skanky Burns
Alpha Centauri Democracy GameACDG The Cybernetic ConsciousnessC4DG Team Alpha CentauriansApolytoners Hall of FameACDG3 Spartans

Local Time: 04:00
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Just some tips for finding resources:

First, looking for them on the map can be impossible (especially if the resource is underneath a city. So try to avoid it.