Old November 19, 2001, 08:48   #1
Drefsab
Warlord

Local Time: 17:05
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Worst/Best Specialized Unit?
Personally, I hate the French's musketeer. It is a pain because you can't upgrade your pikemen/spearmen until you get nationalism and the 1 point of extra offense really is not a very impressive trade-off. In my games using the french, I simply kept building pikemen until i discovered nationalism and then upgraded from there.

Conversely, I've found the Egyptians War Chariot to be a huge deal early in the game when you have another Civ on your doorstep. They cost less than horseman but are as effective and using them gives you an early golden age. Every bit of land area you can scrounge up in the early game is going to be useful and the war chariot is probably the best at beating other civs down early.
Old November 19, 2001, 09:43   #2
Kekkonen
Warlord

Local Time: 19:05
I'm just starting out, I'm currently in the middle of my first game on Warlord (working up the difficulty one level at the time) as the Indians. I have to say, if you don't have Iron and Horses, the War Elephants can probably save the day, but if you have plenty of both, they're kind of lame. Same stats as the knight, which is what they replace.
Old November 19, 2001, 09:50   #3
Altuar
Warlord

Local Time: 12:05
Best? My vote would go to either Immortals or Panzers.
Old November 19, 2001, 09:57   #4
Dalai Lama
Chieftain

I`m playing with the Greeks, and i must say, the Hoplite is a great defender. Defence of your cities in the early years is never a problem with these guys.
Old November 19, 2001, 11:44   #5
Fromage
Warlord

Best: Immortal and hoplites are nice.

It really depends on the game. Ancient special units are pretty useless if first war starts on 20th century
Old November 19, 2001, 11:50   #6
Eli
Civ4 SP Democracy GamePtWDG Vox ControliC4DG VoxCiv4 InterSite DG: Apolyton Team
Emperor

Local Time: 20:05