Old November 19, 2001, 12:47   #1
campmajor!
Prince

Local Time: 18:05
Local Date: October 31, 2010
How good is the AI?
My first impressions of civ3 is that it has turned into a game of "Grab that land before someone else does!".

My first game I lost badly, beacuse I had too few cities. And I consider myself as an expander! When I look back at that game I now know that if I had done things differently the outcome would have been different. Because I have noticed that the AI really expands like hell and builds lots of soldiers, but ignores culture somewhat. So if you try to keep up a bit and build temples etc. then you capture their cities without even a war!

War is something you should not start, unless your military is really good. In my second game, which I am still playing, I'm doing a lot better!

My culture is good, my tech is reasonable but by trade I can keep up. My military is outnumbered but the Germans are separated by sea so it's difficult for them to send troops. With all other opponents I try to stay at peace. I will use my culture to absorb them. They are still building cities, allthough they are in complete jungle....

Maybe it is still too soon to judge the AI, but I will give my opinion at this point anyway:

1. They expand very fast, which is good for them, but difficult for others. (+)
2. They build a lot of military units which makes waging war dangerous. (+)
3. They seem to forget to build culture a bit, so they run the risk of getting absorbed. (-)
4. All AI civs seem to act the same, allthough the characteristics of their civ are different (that is Expansionist/Religious/etc.).

I will come back on this later. Now I will play some more!
By the way I really like how civ3 has become! So Yin:
Old November 19, 2001, 12:53   #2
Deathray
Warlord

Local Time: 17:05