Old December 6, 2001, 07:44   #1
HumbleProgramme
Settler

Local Time: 18:04
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Civ3 from a programmer's perspective
For the past several years I have been one of many Civ players who avidly read the Apolyton forums, but remain anonymous. But having read the many raves & rants about Civ3--and the patch in particular--I find myself oddly driven to step forward with some observations about the game, and the developers in particular.

I have been a professional software developer (manager, designer, & programmer) for almost 20 years now, I believe that Firaxis is getting a "bum rap" in these forums. Allow me to explain:

First of all, many people fail to understand the difference between a "bug" and a "design flaw". Bugs are when the application fails (crashes) or does not do what it is supposed to, usually with 'undefined results'. A well-documented example in Civ3 is the "Air Superiority" bug: it simply doesn't work. A design flaw, on the other hand, is when the application does what it is intended to do, but this has unforeseen or peculiar side effects. In Civ3 we have the example of "lumber-jacking": the program is working properly, but human players are taking advantage of a flaw in the design. OK, so bugs and design flaws are different...so what?