Old December 10, 2001, 09:50   #1
Desert Dog
Warlord

Local Time: 10:16
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Patch bugs and other problems
I thought instead of complaining that this sequel is a poor representation of the civ series it is more like Call To Power 3 then civ 3. Since I have invested $70.00 and really want this title to be entertaining (somehow). I am compiling a list of bugs in patch, bugs in editor and bugs in general that the patch did not fix.
For the record I am a OEM system builder. My system is 1 ghz AMD, the new Radeon All-In-Wonder, 256 megs of ram Windows 98 SE. I am 46 years old been playng the civ series since late 1996 early 1997 sometime. With that said I am no expert but have good insight on Civ series.

I started a game by making a 230x230 map, played as the Greeks with 2 extra techs. Only 8 players total. My first 2 games crashed. The first crashed when I was building my 5th city in a valid location. I reloaded and built the city in another location no crash. Later it crashed when I tried to build on a northen island next to the north poles. No reload would resolve this. The next game crashed after the 3rd city. The 3rd game I played it for 6 hours.
I had to reinstall the game to make the patch work. When I installed patch without uninstalling game I lost building zone borders for settlers and the foriegn advisor showed no lines to indicate who was at peace etc.

1) Right click on units to upgrade them there is a typo, needs a space added.

2) Workers will sometimes go into a loop, enter city leave enter city leave city. Other times they will just keep running around. I did have a HUGH land mass though maybe confusion

3) I started a war with the English. He had 2 regular warriors, I had 3 regular warriors and 1 conscript fortified in the trees. He attacked me and killed all 4 units? Unbalanced big time!

4) I lost units when reloading a game after stopping. I lost a settler, 3 hoplites and one worker?