Old December 22, 2001, 15:36   #1
wathombe
Settler

Local Time: 10:50
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Advances at Prince level and above
Morning all.

I'm new to the game, and after winning my first two Chieftan-level games easily, I jumped to Prince level for my third. I was somewhat shocked to discover that I was not offered all the advances available to me each time I selected my next advance (ie, there were advances for which I had all the prerequisites, but they were not listed as options for me to select):

--despite having already learned Alphabet and Masonry, I was not offered Mathematics on several occasions;

--despite having already learned Alphabet and Code of Laws, I was not offered Literacy on several occasions;

--despite having Construction and the Wheel, I was not offered Engineering on several occasions.

You get the idea.

Is this normal at higher levels of difficulty, or is my game malfunctioning? There's NOTHING about it in the docs that I can find, and it seems pretty freakin' important. Can anybody enlighten me?

Thanks.

wathombe
Old December 22, 2001, 17:56   #2
Gothmog
Scenario League / Civ2-Creation
Prince

Local Time: 14:50
That's no malfunction. It is normal for the game to not offer all possible research possibilities.
Old December 23, 2001, 03:30   #3
Rufus T. Firefly
King

Here comes a long answer