Old January 6, 2002, 22:58   #1
Eric Daniel
Settler

Local Time: 19:00
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Generating Gold
I've tried several tactics for getting gold semi early on in the game and never seem to generate much. One of the best tactics is to build mines, which works well, until your city expenditures exceed your income. By expenditures I mean regiments, roads, city improvements, etc. I can usually only keep around 400-500 gold until each turn starts to subtract say 15 or 16 gold and I am not generating any new revenue. Please help! I'm new to Civ 3 and any help is much appreciated!
Oh and one other thing is that for a city improvement, I've tried wealth which says it takes 1 turn, but really takes many more and have never noticed any results. What is the point of this and does it really work?
Thanks!
Old January 6, 2002, 23:21   #2
Terser
Warlord

Local Time: 13:00
It's tedious as all get out, but it works: every turn you can adjust your science rate slider to yield the maximum amount of gold while still yeilding the max amount of research. A lot of times--especially in the early game--decreasing your science rate by 10, 20, 30, 40 or even 50% will have not increase the number of turns till your next discovery. It will, however, yield more gold for your treasury (in the first few turns, this often means going from +0 income or deficit spending to +4 or 5 GP's per turn). The amount yielded each turn is not great, but it does add up over time. Every little bit helps.