Old January 10, 2002, 13:13   #1
GarethDaragon
Settler

Local Time: 19:11
Local Date: October 31, 2010
2 ways to be invincible (as the AI)
1) i read a post about this earlier on the bug list for possible fixes, but everyone seemed to ignore the important part, so i was wondering if anyone had a similar problem or a solution???

i am playing a warlord game (yes i'm a newbie) as the germans and i have managed to completely decimate the english holdings. england has no remaining cities, but she does have a single solitary remaining unit. it's a galley, i know where it is, i can easily destroy it with my battleship. one problem... if i destroy the galley, i receive the message that england has been vanquished, and then quite unceremoniously my computer crashes. this has been happening since the early industrial age and i'm now in the modern age. there is NO way to destroy england without crashing my computer. i live in fear of the time the AI decides to declare war on england and wipe her out. will that be the end of the game? anyone with an idea. england and her single galley just declared war on japan (the leading power as of now).... not a good idea.

2) i've heard a lot of complaints about the ancient warrior beating a modern tank or such in a straight up battle. hard to believe, but i don't want to go to into the historical realities (or lack thereof in this situation). i'll believe that every once in awhile a highly trained group of warriors can surprise a tank and take it out.

my problem is this: has anyone else noticed that as part of the predetermined dice roles before a turn, the computer decides that a particular enemy unit is invincible and no matter what you send at it, you are guaranteed a lost.