Old January 14, 2002, 01:13   #1
Bullwinkle
Settler

Local Time: 13:20
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Scoring and Casualties
"Good generals don't take casualties" --Douglas MacArthur (or at least, so I was led to believe but I haven't been able to verify it).

I'm new to these Civ websites, and so this may be a subject that's been discussed elsewhere. If so, let me know. But I've often wondered why Civ scoring in general, and scenarios in particular, don't penalize the player for casualties.

I can imagine situations or scenarios in which the predominant scoring dimensions ought to be wonders. objectives, final population, happy citizens etc. or some combination of only these sorts of things. On the other hand, it seems so apparent, particularly in the 20th century, that casualties have been politically important at times and of great interest to posterity and to historians. They've certainly been important to military historians in evaluating the skill of generals. So, why is it that Civ scoring is wholly insensitive to casualties? I know the software keeps track of them (military advisor), so the data is certainly there. Is there some good reason why those of you who make scenarios don't typically consider units lost in scoring? Does the software make it impossible?

Just curious.
Old January 14, 2002, 02:50   #2
Case
Civilization II PBEMCivilization II Democracy Game: Red FrontScenario League / Civ2-Creation
Emperor

Local Time: 05:20
Local Date: November 1, 2010
I've got a system where the player is penalised for taking casualties in my scenario 'The Cruel Sea'. Basically, the kills and losses are entered in a spreadsheet which then spits out the players score.
AFIK this is the only scenario to ever use such a system (and I suspect that a lot of people don't bother with it [which is fine])
Old January 14, 2002, 09:25   #3
Gothmog
Scenario League / Civ2-Creation
Prince

Local Time: 15:20