Old January 15, 2002, 13:57   #1
bsklepzig
Settler

Local Time: 13:23
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Difficulty Level Question
I'm new to Civ games and have been enjoying my first games with Civ3.

I'm on my second game on the Chieftain level and appear to be on the way to a landslide victory via culture (fyi - playing Iroquois, huge map, 8 civs). It's been a lot of fun learning the game. For me, I think there will be a lot of replay value trying for different types of victories with different types of civilizations. I also look forward to trying different difficulty settings so I can enjoy a stiffer challenge than this second game seems to be posing.

My question is this:
How does the game change the difficulty level as one ramps up to a "Diety" game?

Are the types of changes consistent from level-jump to level-jump or are different strategies used by the designers to make the game tougher at higher levels?

I would hope it would be things like:
* the level of micro-management given to cities (production, happiness, etc.)
*level of adherence to goals relevant to the AI civ-type
*awareness of enemy troop movements
*smarter choices regarding improvements and wonders relative to victory goal
*etc.

My fear is that harder levels simply cheat:
*units get produced faster than physically possible
*resources get placed away from the human player
*AI civs automatically identify and gang up on the human civ.
*etc.

Has anyone begun to document the mechanics of this?

Thanks.

Edit: Does anyone have recommendations for the next level to try? I want a tougher challenge and Chieftain seems way too easy, but I don't want to be "newbie-hosed-by-AI's-stacked-deck."

Last edited by bsklepzig; January 15, 2002 at 14:17.
Old January 15, 2002, 14:05   #2
Arrian
PtWDG Gathering StormInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamApolyton UniversityC4DG Gathering StormPtWDG2 Cake or Death?
Deity

Local Time: 15:23