Old January 16, 2002, 23:37   #1
Random Passerby
Warlord

Local Time: 19:27
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Beginning to see what the fuss is about...
I've been scanning these forums for the past two months, and when I got this game for Christmas I was wary--I'd heard a lot of complaining, and some of it seemed to have some valid reasoning behind it. When I first took it out and started playing, I really thought a lot of people were massively overreacting... but I'm starting to have second thoughts. I still think they're overreacting, but these are some issues which have GOT to be addressed. Good sweet lord...

Allow me to paint the scene: I was playing as Babylon, had a good starting position with good surroundings, and had barbarians set to sedentary so I wouldn't have to worry about producing a lot of military right off the bat. I expand aggressively but not threateningly, pack my cities moderately close, quickly build a worker terraforming machine of great efficiency, then start pumping out temples, libraries, marketplaces, and so on. I play the diplomacy game, being plenty benevolent, snag Sun Tzu's and produce a sizable, up-to-date defensive force network. I'm doing great. I have a tech lead that's starting to really run away (6-8 turns for techs none of the computer civs have prereqs for), I'm utterly dominating the culture game--not a single civ was less than an admirer.