Old February 13, 2002, 18:28   #1
Kinniken
Settler

Local Time: 21:32
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Price of Techs, Resources, Cities
I'm new to Civ3 (deep in my first game, a massive one with 16 civs) and one thing annoys me: I never know what price I should ask/offer other civs against technologies, resources or even cities
In a game versus 15 other civs, diplomacy is even more important than usual, so I would realy appreciate help there =)
Oh, and if it helps I am running an unpatched mac version (1.16f), which must correspond to the first PC patch.
Old February 13, 2002, 19:25   #2
Salvor
Apolyton University
Chieftain

Local Time: 15:32
There are a lot of variables involved, so there's no pat answer to that. Most important is how or whether you plan to maintain relations with that civ over the next 20 turns.

Since you're starting out, you can get a good feel for what they're willing to pay by asking them to make you an offer. You don't have to accept, you can incrementally add to it, and by experiment find out the max they're willing to spend.

Also, don't attempt trades that involve cities, unless it's part of a peace offering. They won't trade cities. This was taken out in the last patch to remove an exploit. There are some vague references to trade tweaks in 1.17f, but it's not clear whether a robust replacment of the city-trade is included.

Edit: I misspoke about 1.17f. There's nothing about tweaks to AI trades in the readme. I think I must have misread the line about selling improvements.
Old February 13, 2002, 22:14   #3
Bautou
Chieftain

Local Time: 14:32
>I never know what price I should ask/offer other civs against technologies, resources or even cities