Old February 26, 2002, 10:59   #271
watorrey
Warlord

Local Time: 15:35
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Quote:
Originally posted by bj
A few things have had me pounding my fists on the desk in frustration since i started playing civ3, unlikely combat results is one. For this case I didnt though, it's that unbelievably ridiculous, and consistent, that it's obvious it's a bug.

An army with 3 cossacks 13/14 attacking a CONSCRIPT rifleman in the iroquois capital. The first point of damage is usually made in the first 2 strikes, but then the army is defeated entirely, at which point the rifleman becomes Regular (and is then defeatable). Check out the save yourself, load, end turn, select army in stack outside city and attack. I did this at least 6 times in a row. IIRC I'd already defeated a number of conscripts with the other cossacks in the stack, suggesting it could be an army problem ?
No bug. You had an unlucky roll of the die. In an effort to prevent exactly what you were doing (reloading and trying again) the random seed is saved with the game. The only way to change the results of that battle is to not fight it on that turn, in that order.

You may notice the same thing with other things. Like planting spies. If it doesn't work the first time, it isn't going to work at all that turn.

Firaxis should document these things for casual gamers. The not-so-casual gamers have it figured out quickly enough that it becomes no big secret anyway.
Old February 26, 2002, 11:00   #272
Whoha
Alpha Centauri Democracy GameACDG3 Morgan
Emperor

it saved the random seed the game used to generate that result so it will not matter how many times you attack the rifleman with the army.
Old February 26, 2002, 11:19   #273
bj
Chieftain

Local Time: 20:35
Right. my bad. thanks

Pretty unlucky role of the die though. I'll remember to pound those fists next time. I nearly broke a few bones when a longbowman lost an attack flawlessly but a pikeman won (attacked in frustration).