Old February 27, 2002, 18:32   #1
BustaMike
The Courts of Candle'Bre
King

Local Time: 13:07
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Location: You think you're better than me? You've been handling my ass pennies!!!
Foreign Nationals, Pop rushing, help please... arg!
I just started playing civ3 and I have some questions/gripes that maybe someone can help me with.

After reading some posts in these forums I decided to try and knock out my closest neighboor ASAP so I could exploit them the rest of the game. Seems that a lot of what made this strat work was patched in the 1.17. Here's what happened.

I made a 2nd city and pop rushed a barracks and then archers every other turn using workers made in my capital. I know that this will make my citizen very unhappy so I kept the city at size one with an entertainer. When I was satisfied that I had enough of an army I disbanded the city by rushing a settler.

BAD IDEA! The unhappy people somehow moved to my capital and that was now in permanent civil disorder. Feature in 1.17? Ah, serves me right for killing so many people. That's not really my problem.

I captured several foreign workers in my campaign against those dirty Russians. I ended up with a surplus of workers so I decided to add them to some cities to make up for the lost population early on. I had extorted money and tech from the Russians and everything was fine.

After 20 turns I tried to get more by renegotiating peace. They didn't give me what I thought was fair (they actually wouldn't give me anything even though my army was ready to crush them again) so I redeclared war. Moscow (under my control) was unhappy again (stop oppressing our mother country) and this made sense, but all of a sudden I had unhappy people in my capital (20% stop oppressing our mother country). WTF!!!!