Old January 8, 2001, 17:51   #1
Brent
Prince

Local Time: 16:40
Local Date: October 30, 2010
difficulty
I think there should be a difficulty slider. 10 levels of difficulty. People keep saying they want it more challenging. Of course there should be more challenging levels available, but what about those people new to the game, or have not played it as extensively as you? I have been playing Civ games for about three years, but not as frequently as some do. I recently reminded myself that I can not get anywhere in Civ2 or SMAC at anything beyond the easiest level! I am simply gaming- impaired. I enjoy games greatly, but am no good at any. Tough luck, do you say? well I'll buy Civ3 no matter what, but I guess there's nothing I can do if I'll never be able to win at a higher level than the easiest. Hey, I win very easily at the easiest level of both games, but nothing at the next one. All I ask is that there be a second level that's challenging but doable, or at least more interesting. I'll even be fine if the easiest level is challenging but doable, but I prefer there to be one I know I'll win. Of course, I could try practicing more and rereading the manuals and strategy guides...
Old January 8, 2001, 18:20   #2
tniem
King

Local Time: 19:40
Brent,

It would be my assumption that like in Civ II there will be varying degrees of difficulity. There will always be an easy level to get aquianted with. In fact I will play that level first when Civ III comes out to get a feel for the game.

So, I don't think you need to worry about an easy level in Civ III.

However, you should worry about your skills in Civ II and SMAC. What ways do you try to win?
Old January 10, 2001, 07:58   #3
Brent
Prince

conquest.
Old January 10, 2001, 12:42   #4
tniem
King

Local Time: 19:40