Old March 31, 2002, 05:55   #1
Tucci528
Settler

Local Time: 17:23
Local Date: October 31, 2010
infuriating
Hey, all--I'm new to Apolyton, and to Civ 3 but I've played 1 + 2 since they came out. My initial reaction to Civ3 was positive--seemed good, in spite of the many negative posts here. I now play on warlord level and have issues.
Let me start off my mentioning I am using the Mac version, with the 1.17 patch

Maybe I just need to get better at it, but this game is horrifically difficult--I can't remain a viable contender at warlord. I could certainly understand this level of difficulty a few difficulty levels higher--this is ridiculous.

I can't keep up in tech research. In one game, I don't remember who I was playing but I had made one warrior and one settler, which was only two or three squares from my capital. The warrior ran into an American warrior. The Americans had five techs I did not. How is this possible? I am now setting my tech research up to 100% until I start losing money from improvements or units. My last game, I did this and managed to remain reasonably current, though just before I quit the game I noticed the Indians with six crappy cities (they were Scandinavia on a huge earth map) were three techs ahead of me.
I also tried the suggestion to set it to zero and buy the techs--the other civs just kept demanding so much money I couldn't keep up.

The ability to move multiple units at once in the latest patch seemed like a great option--doesn't seem to work. The stack treats my orders like suggestions, and heads in the exact opposite direction.

I have yet to find any use for any bombardment unit before artillery. My catapaults never succeed.