Old April 15, 2002, 10:38   #1
SpencerH
Civilization III PBEMCivilization III MultiplayerBtS Tri-League
Emperor

Local Time: 18:00
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Back to un-mod-ed game
I started playing Civfanatics GOTM6 this weekend playing with an un-mod-ed game for the first time in months. The savegame wouldnt let me use my mod. I dont know why!

Although its only at warlord, it was kind of interesting because of the limited resource setup. Anyway I'm easily in the lead and get steam power first. I've got lots of workers ready to add railroads everywhere and crank up the industry. Of course I have no coal (also no iron or saltpeter) and no one will trade for it. OK, thats what wars are for. Up until this point I've no complaints about the un-mod-ed game. It was interesting!

But then, in virtually my first combat, I lose an elite and a veteran cav to a 1 hp conscript rifleman in open ground.

Gimme a break

-> reload game then wait till next turn, attack with elite cav spawns a GL.

Two [U]totally[U] different results based on the same combat!

This is what bugs me about CIV3!

I can always go back to my mod where these things are less likely to occur. What concerns me is that if MP uses the same bogus combat numbers (and if we dont want to use them) we'll have to do some major wheeling and dealing to have the same bic files for games wont we?
If any man be thirsty, let him come unto me and drink. Vampire 7:37
Just one old soldiers opinion. E Tenebris Lux. Pax quaeritur bello.
Old April 15, 2002, 10:49   #2
Harovan
staff
PtWDG Gathering StormPtWDG2 Monty PythonC4DG Gathering Storm
Civ4: Colonization Content Editor

Local Time: 00:00
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Waiting one turn gives you a new random number generator seed, that's all. Btw, reloading in the GOTM's is not allowed.