Old April 19, 2002, 10:31   #1
Manolis
Settler

Local Time: 01:14
Local Date: November 1, 2010
An anonymous Greek soldier's story - the Final Stage
(Sorry for dividing the parts, I got confused with the word meter in the bottom of the text"

…continued from PART V…

While we were approaching Delphi, the smell of smoke and fire was in the air. We could hear the gunshots and the explosions. I was feeling a bad pain in my stomach. I wanted to throw up but I retained myself. From the faces of the other soldiers mates, somebody could easily guess that they were feeling kind of the same way. All of us were young. Some, had just finished school or were going to the University. others had just started a career as businessmen, lawyers, teachers etc, others had just got married. As I told you I was a freelancer. I had my own little business, a small tourist office. I was organizing trips and holidays all around the world. Many people were going holidays to Paris to admire the wonder of Sistine's Chapel, or to Babylon to see the great wonder of Hanging Gardens. Others were preferring the sunny beaches of Egypt. All these were now in danger by a fierce enemy. Our jobs, our families our FREEDOM, were now in danger and those boys despite they weren't military professionals, they knew that. They were ready to sacrifice their life for freedom no matter how much pain it was causing to them. The Greeks can't tolerate not a single city to be occupied by a foreign civilization than Greek. It's in our culture to live free and have fun.