Old May 5, 2002, 11:31   #1
JohnMK
Settler

Local Time: 16:10
Local Date: October 31, 2010
How can I maintain peace?
What is the best strategy, that you have tried and empirically proven personally, that results in a more prolongued peace than is typical?

I'm getting very upset with my two neighbors constantly declaring war upon me. I have a huge military, probably an average of 4 units per city, but that's still not enough to stop them from thinking they can take me on.

Can someone reinvent the wheel here, and tell me how I should go about obtaining a lasting peace?
Old May 5, 2002, 11:46   #2
Lucilla
Mac
Princess

Local Time: 01:10
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Mayby you have something they really want. In my current game for instance, I researched literature as the first civ so that I can build the Great Lib. In all the other techs I stayed behind and didn't even try to get some by trade, because I knew that I would get them for free, once I had the GL.
Apparently, all other civs regarded me as weak, as I was scientifically behind. They constantly asked literature from me and when I refused to make the deal, they declared war.
If you have something, they desperately want, it's sometimes better to trade it at a good price as long as you are still able to do so.
Map size plays a big role as well. If there's not enough room, war will start early in the game.

Does that help?
Old May 5, 2002, 11:47   #3
Boris Godunov
Civilization II MultiplayerApolytoners Hall of FameCivilization IV: Multiplayer
Emperor

Local Time: 17:10
Hmm, what difficulty level are you on? I had the opposite problem in my games: Too peaceful. No one ever declared war on anyone else. Finally I became aggressive and did some warmongering. Ever since then, wars broke out on a constant basis, most not involving me.

So, did you, in this early game, do something to irk these neighbors? Maybe you warmongered a while back and they're just sill peeved about it?
Old May 5, 2002, 11:51   #4
JohnMK
Settler