Old June 5, 2002, 20:16   #1
Mauritania
Settler

Local Time: 21:03
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Tech Race
Hi all,

I'm kind of new to the Civ games and was wondering how different players dealt with the tech race. I usually keep my tech funds at 80% and do fine but I ran into a problem with a higher level game. I turned the funding up to 100% and made a beeline right for the great library. The problem was that one of the AI civs beat me to it anyway . I also tried to buy techs and sell them to the other civs but it seemed that they all always had what I bought. I have to say that game was a dismal failure. I would like to hear your failures and successes with racing the AI and trading techs.

Maur
Old June 5, 2002, 20:24   #2
Ribannah
Queen

Local Time: 03:03
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Location: The Netherlands, Embassy of the Iroquois Confederacy
Forget the Great Library, build the Colossus instead if you can. Set your science rate at 0% and buy all the advances, OR always pick the advance that comes fastest (because all others already have it).
Old June 5, 2002, 20:35   #3
Mauritania
Settler

Local Time: 21:03
I understand about the colossus and upping your commerce to pay for techs but wont building the library save you a lot of $$ since you get the techs for free when two others have it?
I was planning on riding the coat tails of the others civ's scientists till the modern era while concentrating on commerce and then upping the tech funds to 100 to try to race ahead to nukes, spaceship etc... I'm still experimenting. Has this worked for anyone else? Like I said, in my first higher level game it failed dismally.

Maur
Old June 5, 2002, 20:45   #4
Playa del Carmen
Warlord

Local Time: 20:03
Quote:
Originally posted by Mauritania
I understand about the colossus and upping your commerce to pay for techs but wont building the library save you a lot of $$ since you get the techs for free when two others have it?