Old June 29, 2002, 16:33   #1
ShowTime
Settler

Local Time: 21:27
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Finance problems: Monarchy to Republic switching while maintaining a large military
Hey all, recentlly I have been playing my 2nd monarch game of civ 3. This game has gone fairlly ok, early on I took over the greeks and left the Chinese with only 1 city left, during this time I switched to monarchy and saw my income get cut off. Now im at war with the Romans which I thought would be an easy target due to their territory size ( I was wrong). So now I was thinking about switching to republic to give me a boost, so I saved the game and went into Anarchy, then a turn later I switched to Republic and my treasury went -67 per turn!! What could I be doing wrong? i'm kinda new to this...so far I tried making courthouses and marketplaces in most cities since the far border ones lost like more than half of all production to corruption. I've also tried hiring taxmen in cities and considered switching to wealth production but I think its a waste of shields...One of my cities is currently making the Wall Street small wonder. help pls!

PS, link to screenshot of my game so far, see if u can spot any mistakes i've made

http://www20.brinkster.com/psistorm/civ3/civ1.gif

Last edited by ShowTime; June 29, 2002 at 16:38.
Old June 30, 2002, 15:19   #2
Blitzer
Chieftain

Local Time: 20:27
How big are your cities? All those courthouses and marketplaces cost a ton to maintain if you have them in size 2-3 cities. I don't really bother with courthouses until a lot later in the game. If you are going to be the warmonger, consider staying in monarchy and not even bothering with any improvements aside from temple, library, aqueduct until well into the middle ages. That courthouse costs the same as 10 archers... just think how useful those 10 archers would have been. Shorter wars means more time in republic. Stay in monarchy until you are into your first builder stage.
Old June 30, 2002, 16:19   #3