Old July 8, 2002, 14:57   #1
Incan_Warrior
Chieftain

Local Time: 21:59
Local Date: October 31, 2010
To Patch or Not to Patch
I may be somewhat of an oddity, but I've been playing Civ III in it's 'virgin' form for 3 months now - that's right, I have yet to install any kind of patch. I've read time and time again how great the patches (and how bad the bugs) are, but my question is this - if I don't think the game is broken, should I bother fixing it? My fear is that I won't like the patched game. I already know there are little things (horsemen no longer retreat, science max is upped to 40 turns) that I don't like about the patches. So, with 2.0 supposedly coming out - should I bother with it if I'm already happy?
Old July 8, 2002, 15:07   #2
FrantzX
InterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamC3C IDG: Apolyton Team
Warlord

Local Time: 22:59
I'm going to be completely and honestly blunt with you right now. You are a complete idiot for not patching up to 1.21. Please rectify your mistake at your earliest convinence. I can understand not using the previous patch due to AI tech trading, but not for 1.21. All the things you do not like, such as science max/min, can be changed in the editor.
Old July 8, 2002, 15:12   #3
Carver
Prince

v1.17f
v1.21f

Patch it up. Retreat needs to be a die roll, otherwise its just too easy. You want stack movement don't you?
Old July 8, 2002, 15:21   #4
Incan_Warrior
Chieftain

Frantz - Don't worry bro, EVEN though you called me a complete idiot I can roll with the blow - we'll just call it constructive criticism. I only play Civ 3 once a week (Saturday) and I have a thoroughly good time when I do. Nevertheless, improving on some of the tediousness (like having stackable movement) would be nice. I'll have to give it a shot.
Old July 8, 2002, 15:58   #5
FrantzX
InterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamC3C IDG: Apolyton Team
Warlord

Local Time: 22:59