Old July 9, 2002, 17:26   #1
Insane_Ike
Settler

Local Time: 04:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
The Plight of One Worker
I'm a newbie here, and this is my first story. I've taken a slightly different approach to this whole story telling thing. Enjoy.

The Plight of One Worker: Part I: So There I Was
By Insane Ike

So there I was. Almost as if by magic, I was standing in the middle of a town. I'm not sure how I had gotten there. I can't even remember what I had been doing before that. All I know is that one minute I wasn't there, and the next minute I was.

The little town was called Washington D.C. It was nice enough, but it was so small. I mean it was literally small. I was towering over everything. I could see over all the buildings and temples and marketplaces and all the people. I could even see for miles around the town. The countryside was beautiful except for this one aluminum can that just seemed to dangle in the hills just outside of town. D.C. was located on the coast of a royal blue sea that was breath-taking. Although this one whale did confuse me. It looked like its tail was stuck at the surface and it couldn't move. I wanted to help the poor thing out, but before I could move, this shovel appeared in my hands and I got the uncontrollable urge to build a road.

So there I was. Building a road. I don't even think I knew how to build a road, but somehow it all seemed to come naturally to me. Sure, it was back-breaking work, but what the hell else was I going to do. I figured that I could build this road and use the time to think. Maybe I could figure out what it was I was doing here and where I had come from.