Old August 8, 2002, 14:28   #1
tatterdemalion
Civilization III Democracy Game
Chieftain

Local Time: 00:45
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Is the Great Library Useless?
I am a newb at this game, so forgive me if I am dregging up ancient history here. But I have been playing a number of games on Regent lately. I finally got a Leader and was able to finish a wonder before the AI. I built the GL and assumed that I would ride the surf wave of technology straight to the industrial era. I made that assumption because I was always about two techs behind the AI, no matter how much I concentrated on science. Anyway. I built the GL, cranked my science way down so I could rush built city improvements and waited for the techs to pour in.

I waited and waited and waited. Lo and behold the AI seems to have stopped research. I think I have gotten maybe three improvements in the 500 years since I built the GL.

Now, I am not the suspicious type. Strike that. I *am* the suspicious type. It sure seems as though the AI stopped even trying to develop tech once I got the GL. It's not like they have a ton of gold either. Does the AI perform a lobotamy on itself once you get the GL?

Winston Churchill
Old August 8, 2002, 15:17   #2
delsolsi
Chieftain

Local Time: 05:45
Re: Is the Great Library Useless?
Quote:
Originally posted by tatterdemalion
I am a newb at this game, so forgive me if I am dregging up ancient history here. But I have been playing a number of games on Regent lately. I finally got a Leader and was able to finish a wonder before the AI. I built the GL and assumed that I would ride the surf wave of technology straight to the industrial era. I made that assumption because I was always about two techs behind the AI, no matter how much I concentrated on science. Anyway. I built the GL, cranked my science way down so I could rush built city improvements and waited for the techs to pour in.