Old September 30, 2002, 20:36   #1
MosesPresley
Prince

Local Time: 03:45
Local Date: November 1, 2010
I have graduated to Monarch
and I am getting my butt kicked.

Regent is no longer a challenge, I win every game, so I started playing Monarch.

I am always the most powerful civ, with the most land, but I keep getting my cities culture flipped. I can't build improvements fast enough. If I stop building units, then I get invaded for being too weak. I sometimes flip their cities, but for the most part, I lose mine and it's always the one with iron. I can usually build only one wonder.

Monarching is hard.

Do any of you pros have any suggestions on how to improve my culture rating, without damaging my military? Any speed building tips?
"In Italy for 30 years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder and bloodshed. But they produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance. In Switzerland, they had brotherly love. They had 500 years of democracy and peace. And what did that produce? The cuckoo clock."
—Orson Welles as Harry Lime
Old September 30, 2002, 21:10   #2
Ethelred
King

Local Time: 00:45
Re: I have graduated to Monarch
I won my first game on Regent but it took me three games to adapt to Monarch.

You need to work on your start most likely. Get those workers working and only on the tiles that are in use. Get enough cities. You might want to start a few games with no intention of finishing them just to work on your start.

Horsies are your friend. More important than iron in the early game. Only legions and hoplites can handle them till the Middle Ages and if you have enough horsies even they will go down. Especialy after you canter on over and cut the Romans iron supply or better yet take them out before they get started that way you won't have to worry about them getting a Golden Age. Best to just leave the Greeks alone if you can. Hoplites are no good on offense but if you go to war with the Greeks you are sure to launch their Golden Age.