Old October 8, 2002, 10:26   #1
Lewsir
Chieftain

Local Time: 10:06
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Negotiation stinks
In the "beating dead horses" department...

Seeing the thread below complaining about the way combat works in CIV 3 and seeing the responses that say it is better with the uncertainty (and I agree), it reminds me that I hate the way you have to fiddle around in negotiations with other civs until your advisor tells you that the other guy will accept your proposal. I would much prefer to have some uncertaint (and greater variation) on what they will accept, and have the risk that you might give away too much or piss them off by not offering enough. And if you're going to have to try 8 times to zero in on the best offer, it might as well just have the advisor tell you up front what minimum offers will work.

I'm sure this has been discussed 50 times (is there anything that hasn't?) but I only started playing recently so I'd be interested in other opinions on this.
Old October 8, 2002, 11:59   #2
Wormwood
Warlord

Local Time: 01:06
Generally, when your advisor says something is acceptable, it can be tweaked around a little bit.
Old October 8, 2002, 12:16   #3
Lewsir
Chieftain

Yes but how much time do you spend fiddling to get it just right? Seems like a waste of time to me.
Old October 8, 2002, 12:22   #4
Bella Hella
Prince

Local Time: 04:06
i think it's a waste of time, but it's worth it to get as much as you possibly can from the AI. you can practically rape them for techs. i've developed kind of a system with how much gold i offer, but yeah, it takes a while.
Old October 8, 2002, 12:28   #5
Lewsir
Chieftain

I shouldn't say it stinks - I really like the flexibility of being able to trade anything for anything. But there must be some way to make it a bit more fun to negotiate. Plus as I know people have often said, the AI is often unreasonably demanding (especially since they seem to be trading techs among themselves like crazy).