Old October 14, 2002, 12:57   #1
FNBrown
Civilization III MultiplayerCivilization III PBEM
Prince

Local Time: 01:21
Local Date: November 1, 2010
My Favorite Mods
I'm not an expert modder, by any stretch of the imagination, but I thought I'd share a few mods that I made recently that seemed to make the game more interesting.

Most of this has to do with the upgrade path of my military units, since I got tired of seeing ancient units around in modern eras, and I hate to just waste them (I know PTW addresses this somewhat).

First, I made swordsmen upgradeable to knights. This seemed like a logical enough progression. I then made cavalry upgradeable to tanks (since most cavalry units went this route in actual history anyway, I didn't think it too much of a stretch). This way, the hordes of horsemen-knights-cavalry that I amass in the earlier stages of the game don't become totally obsolete with the invention of motorized transportation.

The next mod is a bit more radical, and a lot of people may not go for it; but I like it becuase it encourages me to use some units that I otherwise ignore. First, i made archers amphibious. I figured an amphibious ancient era unit makes those galleys a bit more threatening. I applied the same mod to longbowman, and I gave them an extra movement point. Why? Because otherwise, if I have iron, I will hardly use them, as I've usually got the knights by then. This way, they can keep up, AND they have the amphibious trait going for them, even though they're not quite as powerful as knights.

Naturally, I make them upgradeable to marines, and I give the marines the added movement point, too. Just to keep my elite troops up to speed, I make them upgradeable to paratroopers. I give the paratroopers similar offensive capability to the marines, and add the extra movement and amphibious ability.