Old October 22, 2002, 06:32   #1
Rufus T. Firefly
King

Local Time: 05:42
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Civ3 for the Civ2 Apolyton vet
Hi all.

I've been hanging around Apolyton for a couple of years now, ever since I bought Civ2. On the Civ2 forums, one not only found winning strategies but also certain logics on how to play the game; those added to my enjoyment immensely.

Now I've picked up Civ3 -- and I don't hate it. Though different from Civ2, it seems pretty cool. I'm reading the manual as I go, and I'm aware of the basic differences between the 2 games (I miss the camel; I don't miss the Senate one bit). But I do have a question. It's not, "how is Civ3 different from Civ2"; I can get that from the manual. My question is:

How does an Apolyton Civ2'er have to change his thinking in Civ3?

Take these two articles of faith from the Civ2 forums, ideas to which almost every poster (myself included) subscribed:

1) Priority 1 in every game is to get out of Despotism asap
2) The Great Library is not only a waste of shields, it's actually counter-productive

Are these still true, for example? Is there any common Civ2 wisdom that no longer holds? There seem to be other vets of the Civ2 boards here. Tell me: what do I have to relearn?
Old October 22, 2002, 06:43   #2
FrustratedPoet
PtWDG Gathering Storm
Emperor

Local Time: 09:42
2) The Great Library is one of the best Great Wonders in Civ3.
On difficulty levels of Monarch or higher it is very hard (or impossible) to keep up with the AI in techs because of their advantages. It is possible to extort techs from them by quickly razing a couple of their cities and demanding peace, but it is almost always worth going for the Great Library. It is doubly useful if you intend to play the game as a Builder, as opposed to a Warmonger.
Get It!
Old October 22, 2002, 06:49   #3
alva
Civilization III PBEMPtWDG2 Cake or Death?PtWDG Gathering StormInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamC3C IDG: Apolyton TeamC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity